Skip to main content
#
Roof Consulting (ORC)
site map
testimonials
faqs
blog
contact
email usour twitterour facebook page
search
   Contact Joe 
Oregon Roof Consulting

CALL JOE AT:
Phone: (503) 654-4612
Cell: (503) 952-6479
Email: joe@oregonroofconsulting.com

share
Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Email
Add to favorites
Pinterest

Tap your toes
to our new
Cowboy Roofer Theme Song!

Sherrif Badge
Oregon Roof Consulting - Roofing Hall of Shame - 2022

Here at ORC we are well in to our tenth year of service, so we offer some more Hall Of Shame entries that are real doozies. Here we go! 

New Roof Inspection - SE Portland, OR  (Nov 19, 2022)

The owner had concerns so we had a look

New Roof Inspection - Camas, WA  (Nov 10, 2022

The owners wanted an independent assessment so we drove to Camas.        

New Roof Inspection  - Salem, OR  (Nov 08, 2022)

The buyer of this new home had concerns so we went to South Salem - near Independence for a look.        

New Roof Inspection - Best Western Hotel - King City, OR (Oct 14, 2022)

I found what I thought would be found. Roof not remotely close to code and shingle manufacturer's instructions. Wasn't hard to figure out. Mid-October, crunch time/crazy season, roofers all slammed-even the ripoffs, pressure to get it done from headquarters, big easy roof, three stories. Hurry up and slap it on "nobody will ever know". Then, that &%!@$?#@! from Oregon Roof Consulting shows up. Well, there's another roofer who will not be sending a Christmas card.

➲ See our Roof Inspection Report: 
Best Western King City Roof Summary and 5 Attachments.pdf

New Roof Inspection - Tigard, OR (Oct 12, 2022)

The owners didn't like what they saw so we had a look. Firstly, no contract, which is a legal requirement for jobs over $2,000. The three required CCB notices were not given and the roofer has 'exempt' status, meaning no employees. They have employees. Not one detail on pitched or flat  roof done correctly.

➲ See our Roof Inspection Report:  
FI Roof Summary & Attachments.pdf

Roof Inspection - Eagle Creek, OR (Sep 19, 2022)

The homeowners were having multiple roof issues so we had a look. Wherever the builder could possibly cut any corner by golly he did it. Betcha he didn't cut corners on the selling price.

➲ See our Roof Inspection Report:  
TD_Roof_Summary.pdf

Tile Roof Inspection - SW Portland, OR  (Sep 17, 2022)

The owner had suspicions that were well founded.  He hired a company to clean all valleys which involved dismantling, cleaning, then re-assembling all valley tiles. In the course of doing this they broke at least 200 tiles. See, you can't walk on tile loke you can on shingles, cedar, flat work. A lot of crooked and broken valley tiles. Just a mess. More damage was done than was corrected. Homeowners got robbed. I see this madness all the time and I mean all the time.     

➲ See our Roof Inspection Report:  
JR_Roof_Summary.pdf

New Roof Inspection - Beaverton, OR  (Sep 16, 2022)

Most of this roof is better than much of what I see, but there are legitimate ventilation and ridge vent issues.  Some ridge vent openings too small. Nails for ridge shingles too short. Baffle trays compromised which makes the vaulted ceiling ventilation not as productive as it could be.     

➲ See our Roof Inspection Report:  
GV Roof Summary.pdf

New Roof Inspection - SW Portland   (Sep 02, 2022)  

Owner was furious so we had a look. Contract said TPO roof but the 'professional roofers', none of which spoke English (which is very helpful), instead put on a peel and stick system. Problem is that none of the details of the peel and stick system are remotely close to being correct.  The owner of this company sits on his brains all day and sub-contracts everything out. Sounds like maybe a bit of mis-communication here. The 'foreman' of the crew of 'professional roofers' became mouthy and confrontational - which is inadvisable behavior - and said the peel and stick system was done correctly. Either this 'foreman' was engaging in egrigious prevarication (lying) or simply had no idea what he was talking about. I see this stuff all the time and it is astounding the arrogance these people display.   

➲ See our Roof Inspection Report and Manufacturer Spec Diagrams :  
CB_Roof_Summary and Attachments.pdf  

New Roof Inspection - SW Portland, OR (Aug 26, 2022)  

The owner had legitimate concerns so we had a look. The issues on the shingle part were few with the iggest issue being a ridge vent on a too shallow of a pitch. Plus, ridge vent was not on the contract. The 3 flat areas were done so poorly they will need to be completely redone. None of the details are remotely close to being correct. The homeowner had suspicions so he looked online at videos and specs from the roofing manufacturer and could see it was all wrong. He tried to tell the roofers this but they just laughed at him which is arrogant low rent unprofessional behavior.

They aren't laughing now.     

➲ See our Roof Inspection Report and Manufacturer Spec Diagrams :  
GM_Roof_Summary.pdf

Flat Roof Inspection - SW Portland, OR   (Aug 19, 2022)

Who cares about ‘limitations’?

The maintenance chief for this large company wanted an independent opinion of a coating issue with a part of this roof. Roof is a smooth black torch roof with aluminum coating topped with a silicone coating. An area that gets 4” deep ponding water kept having the silicone coating come up. The manufacturer of this coating is ‘Tropical’, based in Florida. Tropical is OK with ponding water – for no more than 72 hours. This roof gets ponding water for weeks at a time. It rains a lot here. Seems like the roofer who applied this stuff would know the specs / limitations.

Roof Inspection - West Linn, OR  (Aug 17, 2022)  

New roof on a $1,200,000 home with a few 'issues'.

The owner had concerns about the appearance of the roof so we had a look. Whoever did this roof was in one hell of a hurry. Probably paid piecework which encourages speed and compromises quality - every time. Shingles were jammed together which did not allow them to 'relax' once the weather warmed up. These 'fishmouths' are a potential negative regarding roof performance and could be considered aesthecically objectionable. The roofer used entry level 'no-caulk' pipe flashings which will fail long before the shingles do. Builders typically but not always give a 1 year warranty. ** If there are legitimate issues then builders and contractors must own up to it for 10 years regardless of any warranty.   

Cowboy Two-Fer - SW Portland & Forest Grove  (Aug 05, 2022)  

Both of these brand new roofs have serious issues.  The first roof was put over a1X8 ship lap deck that wasn't prepared properly, as you can see it is very bumpy. A new roof that is the only layer should lay flat. Plywood should have been installed or at least renail the entire roof deck and replace any warped boards. The owner said this 'professional roofer' was recommended by a friend. I told her that her friend owed her an apology.

The second roof has an improperly installed ridge vent. The roofer also used too long of nails at some overhangs which damaged the plywood and just looks real bad. On some overhangs shorter nails were used that don't blow through. Certainteed allows shorter nails provided you add 2 extra nails to compensate for the minimal deck penetration.  Update: The roofer says all has been reworked - it hasn't. The arrogance of these guys is amazing. The owner will now file a CCB complaint.   

New Roof Inspection - N. Portland, OR  (Jul 07, 2022)  

The owner had concerns so we had a look at his new roof.  The roof install is overall better than most of what I see. The problem here is at the business / administrative end of the job. The contract said ' Tear off roofing on house and garage and install new black shingles '. That's it. Law requires a detailed contract. This one fell way short. Plus, to bid and work on a pre 1969 structure you must have a lead paint qualification. These guys don't. 'Contract' said $22,000 for paint and roof but no breakdown of terms. Stay tuned as a lawyer will soon be consulted and a CCB complaint will be filed.    

New Roof Inspection - Gresham, OR  (Jun 29, 2022)

The owner wanted piece of mind so we had a look at his brand new Pabco roof The install is overall within industry standards except for 1 important thing - 95% of the shingle nails are out of the required nail zone and a high % are over driven. Pabco has 2 red lines a half inch apart on all shingles. That is where the nails must go. All shingle manufacturers are quite clear regarding correct fastening. This job out in windy east county where 6 nails per shingle are required. Nails here are 4 and 5 per shingle. Roofers likely paid 'piecework' which encourages speed and compromises quality. Who cares the homeowner will never know.............unless that mean rotten guy from ORC shows up.

Ultimate Ripoff - Beaverton OR (May 10, 2022)

The contract says Malarkey shingles. These are not Malarkey shingles. Breach of contract / fraud. Fraud is a crime. Fasteners are staples. This roof was put on in 2011. Staples were disallowed by code in 2003. Even if staples were still allowed these are too short, plus they were placed improperly. The staple crowns are supposed to be parallel to shingles, instead they are vertical and at an angle. I strongly advised the homeowner to demand a full refund from these &%$#@! crooked !@#$%&.

New Roof on Geodesic Dome Inspection - Springfield, OR (Mar 07, 2022)

From a distance this is a beautiful job but there are multiple legitimate issues. First and not a good way to start is that the homeowners were not provided a contract. Oregon law requires a detailed signed contract before any work begins if the job is over $2,000. Some roof facets are almost vertical and code considers any facet that is over 60 degrees a wall and walls have different rules. Nailing not correct on these facets. Code requires flashing at any pitch change there is none here. In lieu of flashing shingles must be face nailed. We also found shingles with 2 and 3 nails. An area with no starter course and first 2 rows had nails 1" down from the top of the shingles. Can't do that. The homeowners are not pleased. They will file a CCB complaint and may well end up hiring a lawyer. All the owners wanted was a good roof now all they have is stress and headaches. A friend of these homeowners recommended this roofer and boy do they feel bad about it ! Just a shame all the way around. Homeowner and roofer both going through unnecessary stress that could have easily been avoided.

After the job we went east 12 miles to visit the Goodpasture covered bridge in Vida then to nearby Leaburg fish hatchery. A really nice day trip.     

➲ See our Roof Inspection Report:  
DC_Roof_Summary_with_Attachments.pdf

Update : Roofer refuses to accept responsibility. It's everyone elses fault but his. Sounds like Joe Biden. A lawyer has been hired.

New Roof Inspection - North Portland, OR (Feb 25, 2022)

Major leaking and interior damage here. Main reason is they put a ridge vent on a flat roof. Can’t do that.  Major leaking and a whole bunch of wall and ceiling had to be torn out. Of course, as is quite common, the so called 'professional roofer' won't take responsibility for his actions. It's everyone elses fault. A lawyer has been contacted. Stay tuned..................    

Home Sale Roof Inspection - SE Portland, OR (Feb 08, 2022)

The senior citizen owner – with a target on her back – was told by three roofers she needed a new roof. As you can see, she doesn’t need a new roof. It is a shame that some guys will lie just to make a sale. This home seller was very happy with our service. "money well spent" she said. Feels good to help folks get un-ripped off.   

Roof Inspection - Vancouver, WA (Feb 04, 2022)

This homeowner had concerns so we had a look. Overall not a bad job but ridge vent opening too small - must be 2" minimum. This is 1 1/4" wide. Nails for ridge shingles on ridge vent too short. At some rake edges the shingles lap past the T metal like they should however on other rake edges the shingles were cut flush with the metal. They call that inconsistent.

    Contact

    Oregon Roof Consulting and Inspection
    Phone: (503) 654-4612
    Cell: (503) 952-6479
    Email: Visit our Contact page
    Mail: PO Box 220190, Milwaukie, OR 97222
    OR CCB: 199121
    WA License: OREGORC871MR

    email usour twitterour facebook page

    Residential and commercial roofing project consulting in Oregon; Portland Metro, Oregon; Bend, Oregon; Seattle, Washington; Washington State; and the Pacific Northwest area. Offering professional roof consulting, inspections, project monitoring, and certifications for property owners and homeowners.


    Selected Roof Consulting Keywords: Bend Area Roof Consulting, Bend Metro Area Roofing, Bend Metro Area Roof Inspections, Bend Roof Certifications, Bend Roof Consultant, Bend Roof Consultants, Bend Roof Consulting, Bend Roof Consulting and Inspection, Bend Roofing Consultant, Bend Roof Inspection, Bend Roof Inspections, Bend Roof InspectorJoe Sardotz Roof Consulting, Joe Sardotz Roof Consulting and Inspection, Lake Oswego Roof Consulting, Lake Oswego Roof Consultant, Lake Oswego Roof Inspections, Oregon Roof Consultant, Oregon Beach Roof Consulting, Oregon Beach Roof InspectionOregon Beach Roof ConsultantOregon Beach Roof Inspector, Oregon Roof Consulting, Oregon Roof Consulting and Inspection, Oregon Roof Inspections, Oregon Roof Inspector, Portland Area Roof Consulting, Portland Metro Area Roofing, Portland Metro Area Roof Inspections, Portland Roof Consultant, Portland Roof Consultants, Portland Roof Consulting, Portland Roof Consulting and Inspection, Portland Roofing Consultant, Portland Roof Inspection, Portland Roof Inspections, Portland Roof Inspector, Roof Consultation, Super-Roofer, Super Roofer Joe, Tigard Roof Consulting, Tigard Roof Consultant, Tigard Roof Inspections, West Linn Roof Consulting, West Linn Roofing Contractors, West Linn Roof Inspections, Portland Roof Certifications, Oregon Roof Certifications, Lake Oswego Roof Certifications, Tigard Roof Certifications, Washington County Roof Certifications, Clackamas County Roof Certifications, West Linn Roof Certifications, Real Estate Roof Certifications, Vancouver Roof Consultant, Vancouver Roof Consultants, Vancouver Roof Consulting, Vancouver Roof Consulting and Inspection, Vancouver Roofing Consultant, Vancouver Roof Inspection, Vancouver Roof Inspections, Vancouver Roof Inspector, Washington Roof Consultant, Washington Roof Consultants, Washington Roof Consulting, Washington Roof Consulting and Inspection, Washington Roof Inspections, Washington Roof Inspector, Seattle Roof Consultant, Seattle Roof Consultants, Seattle Roof Consulting, Seattle Roof Consulting and Inspection, Seattle Roofing Consultant, Seattle Roof Inspection, Seattle Roof Inspections, Seattle Roof Inspector

    © Copyright 2012- Oregon Roof Consulting and Inspection, All Rights Reserved.

    Website design and hosting by Precision Computing Arts, Inc.